Recipes

Veggie Stir-Fry Scramble

Good afternoon folks and happy Friday! I am so happy that I was able to share our news about the move with you all! Now I can let you into just how excited and antsy we are to get to the point where both of us are settled into our flat in Lebanon. The next week is going to be quite crazy for us, especially because we decided to take a trip to Niagara Falls this weekend because we live so close and we wanted to get away from the busy-ness of our lives.

We have had a lot of chances to say goodbye to friends and family. This was part of the reason why we had Zach’s family over last weekend. For Christmas we flew to Montana to see my mom and stepdad and sister, brother-in-law and little niece. We have also met up with most of our close friends, Zach said goodbye to some of our Pittsburgh friends last night. I said see-ya later as I will be at their place weekly when Zach is gone 🙂 I don’t think either of us feels like it is real yet. When I start to think about the reality of the change I panic a little bit inside. But I know this was supposed to happen for us at this point in time and I truly believe in the organization’s cause. So I pray for flexibility, perseverance with the move, and faith that this will be a smooth transition.

I have done quite a bit of reading and researching about Lebanon. From what I have learned things are a bit more expensive over there than the US. Zach and I looked up memberships to gyms in the area and we didn’t find anything that we could manage on a volunteer stipend. Good thing we are runners! Zach found out that there is a Beirut Marathon…looks like we will be certainly be doing that while we are there. I am also planning on becoming much better at body weight workouts and workouts that utilize resistance bands.

To prepare for this, I’m hoping to put together a good collection of body weight workouts from the great personal trainers that have blogs. First one I would like to try is from Sweet & Strong. So this is what I will be doing while we are at the hotel – I’ll let you know how it goes!

Amidst the craziness here I am still try to make sure we have great meals and that we aren’t eating out too often or resorting to frozen pizza more than once every other week. I try do this by planning ahead and prepping when I have spare time. When I don’t do this I typically resort to a vegetable stir fry with quick-cooking brown rice or quinoa on the side, something like this:

veggie-stir-fry-scramble

Stir-Fry Veggie Scramble

Time from start to finish – 30 minutes

Makes 4 servings

2 cups cooked brown rice, I use quick-cooking for time purposes

3 gloves garlic, minced

2 large carrots, coined

1 bell pepper, diced

1 package baby bella mushrooms, de-stemmed and sliced

2 cups kale, de-stemmed and torn into smaller pieces (I was running low on this ingredient)

1 can Northern White Beans or any other can of bean you have in stock

2 eggs

1 cup left-over caramelized onions, see note below

1-2 Tablespoons olive oil

1 cup broth, vegetable or chicken

Sea salt and pepper to taste

Goat cheese crumbles, optional

Directions:

  1. Cook the brown rice according to package directions. While the rice is cooking, heat up olive oil in skillet and throw in your carrots and garlic, cook for 5-6 minutes on medium-high heat, you want to give the carrots a chance to soften a little. Season the pan with some sea salt and pepper at this time.
  2. Throw in your bell pepper and mushrooms, cook for another 5-6 minutes, then add caramelized onions, beans, kale, and broth, lightly season once more.
  3. Cook mixture on medium, stirring every few minutes to prevent sticking to the pan, until liquid has simmered off. Add the cooked rice, stir to combine.
  4. Whisk eggs in a separate bowl, add these to the rice and vegetable mixture. Cook mixture on medium until eggs are cooked and everything looks a bit drier.
  5. Dish up and top with goat cheese – you can experiment with other cheeses if you like to see what suits you the best.

Nutrition Information:

Calories: 365 – Fat: 12.8 grams – Carbohydrates: 45.7 grams – Protein: 15.2 grams

I am working on finding the correct way to format recipes, photos, workouts, etc. Please bear with me while I decide on the tools that I want to use and learn how to use them!

Question for you:

Do you have any small fitness tools that you can recommend for me to buy to take overseas? I have a few different resistance bands right now but I am thinking that there may be more that I am not thinking of, please, share with the blog!

 

Leave a Reply

